Gin is used in many cocktails and drinks. People with celiac disease or on a gluten-free diet can easily be confused about whether they are putting themselves at risk by drinking a gin-based beverage.
Table of Contents
Is Gin gluten free?
Yes, pure distilled gin is gluten free and safe for people on a gf diet to enjoy.
However, it is necessary to be attentive to the label of the product because some present additives which are added after the distillation, in particular to give a savour to this alcohol.
What is Gin made of?
Gin is made from a neutral alcohol, obtained through the alcoholic fermentation of barley malt (or wheat, rye...) then aromatic plants such as juniper berries (but also coriander, fennel, licorice, orange peel or almonds depending on the recipe!) are added to give it its unique taste and fragrance. The alcohol is distilled to obtain the gin we use in our cocktails, twice in the case of a "double gin".
The ingredients may surprise you when it comes to the gluten-free issue. It is the distillation process that allows the gin to be gf, even though it is made from cereal malt.
However, once again, make sure that your gin does not contain any additives that may contain gluten added after the distillation process in order to flavor the beverage.
Gluten-free Gin in bars
To safely order a gin drink or cocktail at a bar, ask the waiter which gin is used and if it is gluten-free. Bars usually have several different gins, so you can choose the one that will be used in your cocktail (tip: gin and tonic is my favourite gin-based beverage).
Gin brands that are guaranteed GF
We have listed the most popular brands of gin that claim to be GF.
- Aviation American Gin
- Bombay Sapphire
- Ceder’s Wild (non-alcoholic spirit)
- Gin Mare
- Liverpool Gin
- Manchester Gin
- Martin Miller’s Gin
- Whitley Neill
Leave your feedback