French fries are a staple in most fast food restaurants. A person with a gluten-free diet will inevitably wonder if they contain gluten. We answer today!
Table of Contents
Do French fries have gluten?
Yes and no. Unfortunately the answer is not so simple.
If you look at the ingredients, they are gluten free, but that's not the risk.
What are French fries made of?
Fries are prepared with only 3 ingredients, all gluten free: potatoes, salt and oil.
If you prepare your own fries at home, in an oil only intended for that purpose, then there is no risk!
The problem will arise especially if you eat fries outside. In restaurants, French fries are usually fried in the same oil that is used to fry chicken for example, whose breading is made of wheat flour (which contains gluten). The risk of cross-contamination is therefore very high.
It is necessary to be very careful about the consumption of fries for people following a gluten free diet. If you buy the fries already made in the store, be sure to read the indication "gluten free" on the packaging.
What are the best gluten-free French fries substitutes?
If you want to be 100% sure to eat French fries without gluten and therefore without any risk, there are hundreds of recipes very easy to make at home which will be delicious!
Gluten-free French fries in restaurants
To ensure that you can safely enjoy fries at a restaurant, ask the waiter if the dishes you want are gluten-free or direct yourself to restaurants that have gluten-free logos on their menu or website.
Restaurants that guarantee gluten free French fries
Here is a list of restaurants that proclaim their French fries as gluten free (note that we are only talking about the French fries, not the rest of the menu). You can go to those without fearing for your health! 🙂