Boba and bubble tea are becoming increasingly popular in recent years. With bubble tea bars opening on every street corner, it's natural to wonder if boba is a gluten-free food.
Table of Contents
Is Boba gluten free?
Yes, if we assume that boba is the name given to the tapioca pearls that we find at the bottom of our bubble tea glasses. Tapioca pearls do not contain gluten and therefore boba does not contain gluten either.
What is Boba made of?
Tapioca pearls are made from tapioca starch (obtained by grinding the cassava root) , water and brown sugar. These three ingredients are all gluten free and thus ensure that the boba is also gluten free.
The bubble tea is made from boba, green tea or black tea, milk, fruit and sugar. The whole is composed of gluten free elements, so people following a gluten free diet can enjoy this delicious drink!
Of course, before consuming a bubble milk tea in your favorite bubble tea shop, it doesn't cost anything to ask the salesman if the product is gluten free. You never know if an additive can be added, if the ingredients are preserved with elements that contain gluten, increasing the risk of cross contamination.
What are the best gluten-free Boba substitutes?
If you want to make sure your boba or bubble tea are 100% gluten-free. Make them at home! There are plenty of recipes that can help you make your future favorite drink! A little tip before you make it, don't forget to use XXL straws so that the pearls can go through them 😉
Boba brands that are guaranteed gluten free
The process of making your own tapioca pearls can be time consuming for some, here is a list of brands offering ready made tapioca pearls for your bubble tea, guaranteed ideal for a gluten free diet: