Couscous is a famous dish that will make you travel! However, the couscous grains that look like small pasta or tiny grains of rice can be confusing as to whether or not this dish contains gluten. It is therefore normal to wonder if couscous is gluten-free.
Table of Contents
Is couscous gluten free? Does couscous have gluten?
No, couscous does contain gluten. The couscous seed is produced from durum wheat semolina, which is highly inadvisable for people who do not consume gluten.
What is cousous made of?
There is a recurrent mistake about couscous in people's minds: it is often associated with rice or quinoa as a type of seed. This is not the case! If couscous were to be associated with a food we know, it would be with pasta. Couscous is made from durum wheat semolina flour, which is mixed with a little water and sifted. The small balls of couscous are thus formed and will be consumed in delicious recipes.
What are the best gluten-free couscous substitutes?
People with celiac disease or on a gluten free diet will be interested in finding gluten free alternatives to couscous, we have listed a few ideas below:
Be careful because it can be inadvisable for some celiac patients who may be sensitive to it
Very gelatinous texture due to the presence of a high starch content
Ivory Coast speciality quite similar to this cassava semolina
This is a very good base, but the taste and texture qualities vary greatly, and should be tested according to the manufacturer
The whole seed is round in shape, similar in size to couscous semolina, it is a product without any processing stage or only slightly processed.
The whole seed is round, similar in size to couscous semolina, it is a product without any processing step
The quinoa is very well known and is very well suited to replace couscous seed!
Gluten-free couscous in restaurants
I'm not going to lie to you, finding a gluten-free couscous at a restaurant might be a little difficult. However, you can always ask the waiter if a gluten-free alternative is available, or if they already have it on their menu! More and more establishments are offering gluten-free or vegan variants to accommodate all diets, so don't hold back from going out and trying it 🙂
Couscous brands that are guaranteed gluten free
You will find here a list of couscous assured without gluten by the manufacturers and stores, it can be a nice alternative for your recipes at home 🙂
Leave your feedback