Oat milk is becoming more and more popular and families are using it as a substitute for traditional cow's milk. But since this milk is produced with oats as a base, one can quickly wonder if it contains gluten or if it is suitable for a gluten-free diet.
Table of Contents
Is Oat Milk gluten free?
Yes and no. In this case you should be particularly careful and take the time to read the labels of the products you are likely to buy. Make sure you choose a brand with a gluten free logo on its packaging.
What’s in Oat Milk?
The constitution of oat milk is very simple: oats and water. The whole is ground to a very fine consistency and enzymes are added to break down the oat starch. Finally, the whole thing is filtered to separate the small solid pieces from the final milk.
The reason why it is difficult to give a clear yes or no answer to the question "is it gluten free? is the following: Oats naturally do not contain gluten, however, here the risk of cross-contamination in the industrial process of making milk is high. If the tools used to make the milk have previously been used to work on wheat for example, the chance of contaminated oat milk is high.
What are the best gluten-free oat milk substitutes?
If you want to be 100% sure to drink a perfectly gf oat milk, there are tons of homemade oat milk recipes floating around.
Oat Milk brands that are guaranteed gluten free
We have made below a list of brands certified gluten free for their oat milk, you just have to find them in store or buy them online.
- Califia Farms
- Happy Planet
- Natural by Nature Organic Oatmilk
- Planet Oat
- Pure Oaty
- Rise Brewing Co.